afjfromfla

Bruce Springsteen - Born In The U.S.A. as reviewed by afjfromfla

November 24, 2020

This blue-collar, arena rock Bob Dylan is going places, gonna keep an eye on him
midnightrunner

Bruce Springsteen - Born In The U.S.A. midnightrunner

May 27, 2020
edited 9 months ago
This album, by "The Boss" is a real tour de force of some of his BIGGEST and most anthemic rock hits. But, I have always felt, the album should come with a warning sticker, on the front. This is because, there is a song called "Dancing in the Dark" which is actually quite dangerous and should not be encouraged. As when I tried it, I bumped into my mam's coffee table (as with no lights on I could not see it) and I knocked over a vase of flowers, which in turn splashed water on my mam's nicest Bible. When she saw the sodden mess I'd made of half of the new testament, she was so furious with me!!
jabberjaws

Bruce Springsteen - Born In The U.S.A. as reviewed by jabberjaws

May 19, 2020
Not the Boss's best album, but beyond a doubt his biggest.
Chasmoe

Bruce Springsteen - Born In The U.S.A. Chasmoe

July 19, 2019
This list is a little light, or did I just not see the CD3 single:
COLUMBIA
38K-04680
CSIG 0000079
1984
1. BORN IN THE U.S.A. (4:38) - from the album of the same title
2. SHUT OUT THE LIGHT (3:53) - from ??

No cover. Clear plastic, flapped sleeve
ZapDrack

Bruce Springsteen - Born In The U.S.A. as reviewed by ZapDrack

March 12, 2019

Solid 4/5 stars. I'm a child of the 80s, and this album was "dad music" when I was growing up. The synths sounded cheesy to my childhood ears. I recently came across a mint copy of this vinyl for $5, and I snapped it up. To my pleasant surprise, this album is actually quite fantastic, mostly in the deeper cuts. If I could scratch out "Glory Days," I would. But, we have "Going Down", "I'm on Fire," "No Surrender," "Dancing in the Dark", and "My Hometown" to make up for the cheese of the other tracks.
Jocad

Bruce Springsteen - Born In The U.S.A. Jocad

December 4, 2018
Definitely one of the best Rock albums on Top of the eighties Pop charts. I‘ve got the UK ???? vinyl LP in my collection, sounds great ??
jp005

Bruce Springsteen - Born In The U.S.A. jp005

February 18, 2020
I have the USA pressing so much better the album was mastered by Bob Ludwig at masterdisk in New York so my USA pressing says masterdisk rl in the dead wax so he cut the USA vinyl sounds a lot better
alternapop

Bruce Springsteen - Born In The U.S.A. alternapop

November 25, 2017
There are several entries that refer to "G1" and Carrollton. Why are there multiple entries for this versus having all the matrix/runout differences under one?

I have a gold stamped promo with these (I added to this release, at least for now):
PAL-38653-3C MASTERDISK G1 B2
PBL-38653-2A MASTERDISK RL G1 A30

this one, plus these 2:
Bruce Springsteen - Born In The U.S.A.
Bruce Springsteen - Born In The U.S.A.
streetmouse

Bruce Springsteen - Born In The U.S.A. as reviewed by streetmouse

June 8, 2017

Like a child that I was nurturing, like the child I knew was destined who grow up, with Born In The USA I stood helplessly by, watching Bruce turn the corner at the end of the street, ride out of sight, and into the arms of the world. I was one of the few people who can actually claim to have seen Bruce before his record deal, I heard him own the Pony all night long, braved the elements to hear an electric and acoustic set at the Main Point, and flipped with sly satisfaction when a local radio station incorporated “Saint” into a station promo ... I suppose that I should feel lucky to have owned him for so long. But after sixteen years, I guess it was time to let go, his cult status had slipped away.

Born In The USA, aided by that music television thing spawned seven top-ten hits, charted at number one, spent thirty six weeks in the top three, over fifty weeks in the top five, and a mind blowing eighty four weeks in the top ten ... allowing Bruce to move from small venues to arenas, and become the stuff of legend. Oddly enough the album opens with “Born In The USA,” a beefed up version of a much darker song, and more impression version that most of the world would never hear until sometime in the future. I always wondered why that dark version hadn’t showed up as a reprise on the album; it would have been so effective. Thanks to some dear friends, I was able to hear many of the nearly one hundred tracks that were recorded over a two year period that made up this release, and contributed to several others. Born In The USA marked a significant change in Springsteen’s style, a style that for those of us who’d been following Bruce for years took in stride, because it seemed and felt so effortless. Here, for the first time the music took center stage, over shadowing the lyrics to the point that most people [including the Republican party who wanted to use the song as an election banner] didn’t understand them, and more pointedly, they didn’t seem to care ... the fans were more than happy with the huge sound that shook walls and allowed them to dance the night away to blistering guitar solos. And as good as the album was, I left the table feeling rather hungry, and bit forgotten, if not older at the time. No doubt, the release of Born In The USA significantly challenged those who’d found Bruce at this particular moment in time, causing them to question much of his future work, not understanding that this was merely a bubble that held it’s shape and then bust in the summer sun as Bruce returned to more introspective albums and ways of thinking. Taken out of context it’s easy to dismiss Born In The USA as a static achievement, remarkably locked in the 1980’s ... yet viewing it within the musical continuum, Born In The USA is a wonderful achievement ... though without a doubt, and by me as well, Born In The USA is oven overlooked by those of us who’d been riding top-down on the passenger side with Bruce for all these years, because we like to feel that we know something that others don’t, could see things in his music that others couldn't, and have experienced his rapture in ways that new-be’s never would. In short, I and those like me, took great satisfaction from the early cult status, we didn't want to be part of this bigger than life world experience, and I suppose, took a bit of self-rightous pride in ignoring this number one, chart topping production.

And, twenty five plus years out, I've gotta say, "Born In The USA" is a really is a fine album ...

Review by Jenell Kesler
_CHAIRMANoftheBORED_

Bruce Springsteen - Born In The U.S.A. _CHAIRMANoftheBORED_

April 4, 2013
edited over 8 years ago

In the last years I came across 2 different hype stickers attached to the shrink of the original QC 38653 US version:
- White rectangular sticker mentioning "Dancing In The Dark" plus "I'm On Fire", "Cover Me", "No Surrender" and "I'm Going Down"
- Black rectangular sticker mentioning "I'm On Fire", "Cover Me", "Dancing In The Dark", "Bobby Jean", "No Surrender", "Born In The USA", "My Hometown" and "Glory Days"

Is there anyone who knows which one came first or do they just differ from the various pressing plants the records have been manufactured at?

These are the etchings of my white sticker copy:
PAL-38653-3L MASTERDISK A11 ? G1
PBL-38653-2C MASTERDISK A4 ? G1

Is there probably someone who can tell me the etchings of his black sticker copy?
huabingke

Bruce Springsteen - Born In The U.S.A. huabingke

April 14, 2015
I also want to know, Did you find the answer for the question now?