synonymous

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) as reviewed by synonymous

March 29, 2021
edited 19 days ago
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, Ltd, Cle, 88875173871
I heard this first on a train to Leeds the day after he died and spent the time trying (and failing) to hide my tears, both for the loss and for the incredible life force that runs through this record. Listen to the end of 'Ti's Pity She's A Whore and tell me it doesn't make your hairs stand on end. Talk about raging against the dying of the light. Just, wow.
Scrade

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) as reviewed by Scrade

February 18, 2021
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, MPO, 88875173871

This is a pretty decent pressing of Bowie's wonderful swan song album. The provided booklet is made of very nice material, and while hard to read has some excellent printing quality. The pressing quality itself sounds pretty average unfortunately. It gets the job done, but it definitely could've been made more dynamic.
stepan.reznikov

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) stepan.reznikov

January 20, 2021
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, RP, Cel, 88875173871, 88875173871
What does 'Partially Mixed' in the 'Format' field mean for this pressing?
hifi_guy

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) hifi_guy

April 15, 2021
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, RP, Cel, 88875173871, 88875173871
It should be removed actually. The Album is not "mixed" but was conceived by the Artist with gapless transitions between (some) tracks.
shayess

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) shayess

April 13, 2021
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, RP, Cel, 88875173871, 88875173871
I assume it's referring to the transition between Dollar Days and I Can't Give Everything Away
adamfmoore

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) adamfmoore

December 24, 2020
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, RE, RTI, 88875173871

Did anyone get this version and not get the booklet?
lalalalalalala

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) lalalalalalala

December 6, 2020
referencing ★ (Blackstar), CD, Album, Ltd, Blu, SICP-30918
I pre-ordered this online from HMV in Japan and received a limited poster, advertising the release of Blackstar.
Mist3rCe

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) as reviewed by Mist3rCe

December 5, 2020
edited 4 months ago
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, RP, MPO, 88875173871, 88875173871
I'm not an expert but this is to me one of the Bowie's finest albums. I own this MPO pressing and I also own CD version (Europe). In my opinion CD version is so much better. There's a big difference.
simonlynn

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) simonlynn

August 15, 2020
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, RE, RTI, 88875173871
Noisy enough to call it VG+ when brand new. Certainly tolerable but not a clean, high quality pressing.
xmarifulx

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) xmarifulx

September 16, 2020
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, RE, RTI, 88875173871
100% agreed.

enter words here and what not .... ...
JSL0bsession

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) JSL0bsession

July 23, 2020
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, RTI, 88875173871

One of Bowie's many masterpieces, this LP has gotten better over time and I think it will continue to do so. This guy was so diverse in his music that if you're not a fan of one style he did, you probably are a fan of another. Many times throughout his career he would release a new album and I would think: "Oh, this is OK" then months or years later I would think: "Wow! This is amazing!". It was because he was a trendsetter and it sometimes took me a while to catch up. Not so with this LP. I liked it right away. Happy listening everyone!
mikebierbrewing

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) mikebierbrewing

July 15, 2020
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, RP, Cel, 88875173871, 88875173871 I1
Mine came with a download code. Maybe I have a different copy
SongAndDanceMan9

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) SongAndDanceMan9

July 9, 2020
edited 9 months ago
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, RE, RTI, 88875173871
My is visually NM that sounds like a VG record through the first half of Side 1. Pops and crackles throughout. Absolute trash quality control
fborrull

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) fborrull

July 9, 2020
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, RTI, 88875173871

Blackstar, and specially Lazarus, are worth the price of entrance here ... So moving, more so considering he died two days after this album was released. The musical video that accompanies Lazarus is visually very compelling, and in the line of breakthrough artistry David had us accustomed to.
Viril666

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) Viril666

May 27, 2020
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, RP, Cel, 88875173871, 88875173871 I1
Got my record today. No download code here and only the "Parental advisory explicit content" sticker on the front.
pvdossel

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) pvdossel

November 19, 2020
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, RP, Cel, 88875173871, 88875173871 I1
Exactly the same here....but no big deal I guess.....4th pressing maybe?
tatranky

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) tatranky

June 26, 2020
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, RP, Cel, 88875173871, 88875173871 I1
Same as me. I don't have the download code and the big black sticker on the front cover.
daviddgrant

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) as reviewed by daviddgrant

March 25, 2020
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, Cel, 88875173871

I stopped buying Bowie album after Lets Dance and regret that purchase. There is a lot of good Bowie but the quality of releases dropped after Scary Monsters. Lets Dance has 3-4 great songs but a weak album. I know all the subsequent albums but never felt they should be a vinyl purchase (I pick and choose a handful of songs). However Blackstar has some amazing songs on it and was this goodbye to the world. Not a great album but his last album with some great tunes. Blackstar and Lazarus are pure genius.
stupidfambaloo

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) stupidfambaloo

March 12, 2021
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, Cel, 88875173871
wow - teenage wildlife is on side 2 of scary monsters
flowerbed

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) flowerbed

June 28, 2020
edited 10 months ago
referencing ★ (Blackstar), LP, Album, Cel, 88875173871
If you like Blackstar I'm amazed you don't like The Next Day, Reality and Heathen. Personally I think all three are better than several of the 70s period Bowie (Man Who Sold The World, Diamond Dogs and Lodger are patchy...,and as for Side Two of Scary Monsters, what a waste of vinyl those songs are!).

I stopped at Scary Monsters so I know what you're saying but then someone alerted me to what he'd been up to a few years before he died. The last four Bowie albums don't hit the heights of Hunky Dory or Rise And Fall but one or two of them would be in my top five definitely.

Blackstar is the weakest of the last four, in fact! Compelling for what it is, when it was, etc. but for a more enjoyable Bowie record where he's enjoying himself with a great band and great songs I would reach for Heathen, Reality or The Next Day. Check em out. A Bowie fan is bound to like them!