DokolosSeba

Madonna DokolosSeba

March 13, 2021
Madonna, I love you so much! Your music, your albums...!! So nice ????????????
pamasso1234

Madonna pamasso1234

January 15, 2021
The great legend Madonna Louise Veronica Ciccone in the world!!
ndekemoko

Madonna ndekemoko

February 4, 2021
I agree with you! The true legend of pop music!
SemaSober

Madonna SemaSober

November 27, 2020
edited 5 months ago
I'm Looking for an early Madonna tune which was Madonna singing over an typical late 80s early 90s acid house 'beat''. Sadly I can't remember any vocal parts. Can someone help me out please? :)
SemaSober

Madonna SemaSober

March 17, 2021
Woah, I'm starting to realise there's way more house-type Madonna tracks than I initially thought. I appreciate all your suggestions, thank you :)
MrPacDan

Madonna MrPacDan

February 20, 2021
There's also a full vocal version of Up Down Suite titled "Goodbye to Innocence" that was on the Just Say Roe compilation CD from sire records. Another possibility is that you're looking for the song "Only When I'm Dancing" by the Mighty Dub Katz, which uses a vocal sample from "Into the Groove". She also sang on the house dub mixes of "Get Over" by Nick Scotti and "Queen's English" by Jose and Luis.
Ciccone

Madonna Ciccone

January 6, 2021
Would you be referring to ‘Sidewalk Talk’? Written by Madonna, produced by Jellybean, backing vocals by Madonna but main vocals by another artist.
SemaSober

Madonna SemaSober

December 9, 2020
Thank you for the suggestion :) but I don't think it's the one im after
ISacrificed

Madonna ISacrificed

December 4, 2020
I think it's Up Down Suite from the Erotica sessions. It can be found on YouTube :)
Tinkuy

Madonna Tinkuy

November 17, 2020
Love her music. I've been looking for vinilos and Celebration is my fav
mrbonesSTL

Madonna mrbonesSTL

September 13, 2020
Wonder if this is ever going to be up here: https://i.imgur.com/VQLMais.jpg
DJHere2makeumove

Madonna DJHere2makeumove

August 24, 2020
My God! The level of maturity with the comments on here about Madonna.

Seriously grow up people.

Get a job or get a life.

Madonna is successful because she worked hard to get where she is.

The music industry is ruthless and unforgiving, some are lucky to make it out alive with their dignity intact.

Grow up you imbeciles??
DJHere2makeumove

Madonna DJHere2makeumove

August 24, 2020
My God! The level of maturity with the comments on here about Madona.

Seriously grow up people.

Get a job or get a life.

Madonna is successful because she worked hard to get where she is.

The music industry is ruthless and unforgiving, some are lucky to make it out alive with their dignity intact.

Grow up you imbeciles??

Booj1Boy

Madonna Booj1Boy

June 22, 2020
Regardless of what you think of her as an artist, I think it's pretty hard to knock the fact that from the early 90s to now, her singles and DJ promos often featured some of the best and most in demand club producers doing remixes for her, churning out some incredible remixes in the style of what was popular at the time in the club scene. Even if you don't like her vocals, there's always the dub remixes.
Texasbear

Madonna Texasbear

November 3, 2020
Booj1Boy
Regardless of what you think of her as an artist, I think it's pretty hard to knock the fact that from the early 90s to now, her singles and DJ promos often featured some of the best and most in demand club producers doing remixes for her, churning out some incredible remixes in the style of what was popular at the time in the club scene. Even if you don't like her vocals, there's always the dub remixes.


I agree completely. I’m not by any means a huge Madonna fan or an expert on her work. My husband doesn’t like her at all, but he’s 10yrs my senior and a Texan, so I haven’t purchased everything she’s ever done. I still love him more after 20yrs than I ever have. With that said, she’s absolutely just as much of an Icon now as ever. I own a copy of the Sex Book, which was really controversial at the time and expensive as hell. I have the Japanese mini Cd album collection. I just collect those anyway, but I’ll admit that I listen to them more than I thought I would. Generally through headphones while my husband is watching TV.

I was fortunate enough to buy her “Celebration” 4 LP collection directly from Warner Brothers online which is now like a $500 album. I paid like $45.00 for it and I got screwed by Warner Brothers on a copy of Janes Addiction - “Ritual De Lo Habitual” that they never sent to me. I thought that it would be all the Madonna songs that I would ever need, but I’ve bought a lot more of her albums than I thought I would’ve since then. I also had no idea that my “Celebration” album would be worth so much when I purchased it either.

It’s been awhile since I’ve been out to any clubs, married life will do that to you, but you will hear her work at least 2 times in a night out, pre-pandemic of coarse. As you mentioned though it’s usually a remix of one of her hits. Even in the “Bear Bars” with all of the masculine guys you’ll hear her songs. It’s just solid and has stood the test of time.

Texasbear
1ofdem

Madonna 1ofdem

June 9, 2020
The Queen of It ALL! 38 years in the game, and like she said, her most controversial fact is that she's still around!
hgtaladro

Madonna hgtaladro

July 1, 2020
Yes, Madonna is the queen of all female music artists. She's now even next to The Beatles in the ranking by Billboard..
fortunamover

Madonna fortunamover

April 15, 2020
Excellent combination of music and voice.
Started listening late but its worth it.
Keep going
maxal

Madonna as reviewed by maxal

March 26, 2020
As a project, and looking at all the PRODUCT, I wonder what this Madame X album stands for? Looking at the more ltd edition releases, and there are quite a few, pic, coloured etc, there seems to be the assumption: the more tracks the better (sure, IF THEY ARE GOOD ENOUGH.) The videos are well done, the dance is great, but, ummmm not too sure about the music.

Strange, mysterious, alluring, but wait, is it good music?. Not too sure about this album, so beguilingly attractive, but as I get closer and dare LISTEN, well, it’s a bit bland. It’s hard to sit through this swamp of an album, can somebody please point out a decent track? I know . . . get a team of monkeys to thump out some remixes, surely the laws of probability will eventually churn out something foot-tinglingly sensational?

But wait – do we even have a track worthy of being a single? So many promo singles from the Madame X album. Looking for a legitimate / available single is like hunting for truffles. It really begs the question: WEREN’T ANY OF THE MANY TRACKS GOOD ENOUGH?

[Maluma ?– Medellín (Remixes, seven of ‘em). "For promotional use only. Not for sale. Distributed at official "Madame X" album-release parties & nightclub giveaway events in various cities across the US." Must have been some party. And maybe it’s noteworthy: money, power, extravagance, beauty with questionable depth, exclusivity, don’t let the rabble in and then they’ll be gagging to take part. A part of the rat trap, no, no, no, noooooo.]

It's so dark. Where has that ray of light gone?
zevulon

Madonna zevulon

October 18, 2020
I would agree fully with the spirit of this review. Madame X is a total lackluster of an album - it just doesn't tickle my senses - or provoke - at all.
That being said - I'm pretty sure that she will spring back - she always does. She is a veritable Force of Nature.
maxal

Madonna maxal

May 19, 2020
Yes, inadream I agree with you about the Madame X symbolism being on the darker side (like Illuminatus or the occult). I thought of Marquis de Sade right away and remembered Enigma, Sadeness . . . Madonna as a dominatrix, she is latching onto popular fetishes. However, when she chose to shock with her Erotica album, I believe she shocked more wholeHEARTedly, with more focus and an honest sense of fun, beauty and passion. Is there something missing with this Madame X thing? It might sound trite, (from the shadows, who am I to say) but I think she is misguided. She tries too hard to shock, got addicted to being seen in a particular way, as avant garde, and craves too much for a sustained amount of attention. When she sang Love Don’t Live Here Anymore, Madonna shows her real abilities, she can still do that. Ray of Light seemed to promise Madonna had found her inner self, didn’t need to shock, instead creating good strong music. But it didn’t continue and now I am not so sure.

When the whole world becomes your audience, it must be hard to keep them satisfied as decades and trends come and go. Especially if you try to keep ‘ahead’ of the music game. I remember looking at the Like a Virgin cover, all the jewellery, over-made-up - seemingly taking the 'girly' to an extreme. I didn't like that film Desperately Seeking Susan, I was one of the many puzzled by the Madonna craze of that time . . . but boy did she latch onto a dedicated audience, and with it she grew and flew . . . and I listened. Time went by and still there was stuff which wasn't totally to my taste. But at some point there were some tracks I liked and then some I thought were brilliant, or the videos, or certain mixes.

I think Justify My Love was the song which really blew me away. It was a punchy, political song, breaking social barriers, pushing taboos away – a real declaration for individual freedom. But on top of that it is a beautiful song. And the official video – I like the bit at 4:19 where Madonna is caught candidly giggling between two lovers, she is looking at the audience in a very straight manner and breaks into an honest giggle – really trivialising the taboos some people and authorities take way too seriously. This video is far more real and direct in its display of sexuality / erosion of gender borders than Frankie Goes to Hollywood. They all play their part in paving the road, I suppose. She’d obviously done it before many times with specific subjects . . . Like a Virgin, which didn’t personally do it for me; the video for Like a Prayer was amazingly confrontational for Catholicism. Etc, etc and loads of dosh.

Yes, it was the producers and those who she chose to collaborate with which enabled Madonna’s success, but there is NO doubt she is at the centre of her own success. Picking, tricking and flicking away. You'd hear she could pick them or drop them (ruthlessly?) She could mould herself into any dream with the right, professional, dedicated team of artists. You'd hear odd stories of some of her 'chance meetings', stubbing a cigarette out on Tony Ward was a good story to circulate when she was doing the Erotica album, links with stars such as Warren Beaty (!) and Rupert Everett when she was trying to push her way into film. How did she do it? Does it matter? Is that how the music factory works? Maybe, at the top. One of her influences / friends was Sandra Bernhard. I think Sandra was who I wanted Madonna to be. Sandra was witty and sharp when spoken to, there wasn’t enough of her on TV. Sandra is the Real Deal (or at least more of one). The video, Without You I Am Nothing is a good introduction to classic Sandra. In my head the best of what Madonna represented is a kind of Sandra, but polished up for capitalist entertainment. That leads to a key thing about Madonna the showgirl, the businesswoman, her genuinity: you have to ask: what is her purpose? Art or money? Is it just capitalising on archetypes?

When I write something on the negative side, like my review of Madame X, I find it difficult to post. Is it fair to crit such an established artist? Some seem happy with the album (but how much is hype?). Then I thought, mine is a valid view, I’m not pretending to be the only comment so it offers a balance and there can be a danger of stars getting ahead of their own Celebrity Heads. Negative criticism is more difficult than positive and there should be a place for negative criticism.
inadream

Madonna inadream

May 19, 2020
edited 11 months ago
I also find that her music and her visuals have become very dark with apparent "illuminati" symbolism and dark esoteric type imagery. To me she has become almost like a dark High Priestess in recent years a few times with ritualistic imagery and symbolism of her performances. Beyond that though, I am collecting her pre-2000 albums on vinyl at the moment as nothing after Ray Of Light is interesting enough to me to pay for. MDNA reminded me of late 90s trance music, and overall I felt the album was inconsistent and incoherent. Recently I listened through all of Madame X and now I think it is the weakest Madonna album. When I compare it to any other recent artist doing the same or similar music style, I just find Madame X bland. It's almost as if Madonna is just saying "see I can do that kind of music too! I am still relevant! I am I am!", but it's just not interesting. I'm not saying I'd want her to only release music like her old songs, but I'm definitely saying I want her to find a music producer and lyricist that *brings out her best* like all the producers and writers that made her music pre-2000. Confessions On A Dancefloor is her only good 2000s album for me, I thought Stuart Price did an excellent job coming up with the music on that album, but everything since is more than a bit try-hard and forgettable, nothing innovative or as interesting as what other current artists are producing or writing. Madonna relies entirely on good producers and that worked for her in the past, but for me it's not been working for many years now. She's always been desperate for validation and attention, but she seems more desperate now than ever to be relevant and I think at her age it's just a bit sad and pathetic to be trying so hard. I really hope she finds better producers that bring out her best again.
muziken

Madonna muziken

April 13, 2020
Too many guest singers too, don'tcha think. Can't really hear much/enough of Madonna on the Medellin track, but the ones with just Madonna are just fine. IMO, the worst ever song by Madonna was Love Song her and Prince weren't even in the studio at the same time...both studio submissions were edited together in the studio. Ugh!