Reviews for Joey Negro

Bourbonman

Joey Negro Bourbonman

April 8, 2022
i can only think of one reason why he dropped it..
See 1 reply
georgebenson

Joey Negro georgebenson

August 20, 2022
Why don’t you share your astonishing insight into the mind of someone you’ve never met
Neo_Chayanne

Joey Negro Neo_Chayanne

July 11, 2021
Date of birth: 18 June 1964.
To be updated by discogs
Perennial_Rhythms

Joey Negro Perennial_Rhythms

July 21, 2020
edited over 2 years ago
On the origins of the pseudonym “Joey Negro” and his decision to stop using it (Facebook post, 7/21/20):

I’ve understandably been asked the question of how did you come up with the alias Joey Negro many times. If you don’t know, here’s the story. Back in 1990 I’d produced my first solo release and I wasn’t sure if it was any good or what to do with it. I was running a label called Republic (owned by Rough Trade) at the time and had licensed material from the NYC label Nu Groove on several occasions. They were a super cool label, so I sent my song to Frank and Karen there and they said they liked it and had a gap in the schedule so would be prepared release it. Normally I’m ok at thinking of names but I just couldn’t come up with anything and the label said they really needed all the credits by the end of the week. I had a pile of records next to my desk at work, amongst them was Pal Joey “Reach Up To Mars” and J Walter Negro “Shoot The Pump”. I wrote down a few of the names off the vinyl and put them next to each other.

The one time I’d heard a J Walter Negro record on the radio as a new release the DJ announced it as “Negro”, the Spanish pronunciation, and that’s how I heard the name as I used it. Why didn’t I use Dave Lee? In retrospect I should have done, but to be completely honest it just seemed boring compared to the likes of Junior Vasquez, David Morales or Frankie Knuckles who were making some of my favourite records at the time. The Spanish house label Blanco Y Negro had a big record with Real Wild House and there was another song Piano Negro, I felt Joey Negro gave it a Latin American feel so it would fit in peoples record boxes. Many of the disco records I bought in the late 70s/early 80s were producers under pseudonyms, there didn’t seem anything odd about not using my birth name. Back then I never ever imagined the name as a longterm thing that I’d ever DJ under or be addressed as face to face. It was just for the label of a record.

The Nu Groove release did ok but I didn’t plan to re use the alter ego. However a year later I had finished a new EP and I was going to use the alias Raven Maize, but I played it to a friend and he said it sounded like the follow up to the Nu Groove release (and nothing like the earlier Raven Maize record) and I should use the name Joey Negro. I saw his point and took the advice on board. A few months later I remixed a track off that EP into a song called “Do What You Feel” and that became a big club hit that got into the bottom end of the pop charts. The name suddenly became well known to clubbers and record labels. I then began doing lots of remixes and even when I put Dave Lee on the mix name credits, the record label would change it to Joey Negro – and in fairness to them this was the name the general public was familiar with.

Over the subsequent years I’ve collaborated with loads of black artists, and of course the name has come up many times whilst working in the studio. I’ve explained the history of how it came to be and no one has ever said anything on the lines that they find it offensive or I should change it - in fact quite the opposite. Like a lot of DJs there are photos of me on social media, flyers and in interviews. I’m obviously not Black and it would be wrong if I was pretending to be. I don’t think I have sold more records because people thought I was black but fully accept there could be confusion.

In truth I’ve not felt comfortable with the name Joey Negro for a while, especially as I’ve got older. I’ve stopped using it a few times but establishing a new name as an artist isn’t easy and I’ve ended up going back to it. I understand now though that it’s not appropriate for me to carry on using the name. I’ve recently received emails, tweets etc saying that it is unacceptable and people find it out of place in 2020 - and I agree. From now on I’m dropping Joey Negro as a pseudonym, and all those future releases that weren’t already in production will carry the name Dave Lee.
I’m sorry to have caused any offence. My whole life has been about music but particularly black music, I love soul, funk, disco, jazz in a way that’s impossible for me to articulate in words and I have tried to champion it with the best intentions. Please be aware the changes are not instant everywhere, Best Dave Lee“
See 2 replies
1984__the--djphunk

Joey Negro 1984__the--djphunk

March 2, 2022
Thanks for the reel history .... thats important ...... Major Right are used against Artist since too many time.
Fuck that woke mind paranoaik with no sens of creativity and love for music.
Pistachios

Joey Negro Pistachios

November 27, 2020
Great post. Sensible people will always judge Dave on the outstanding music he produces and not on a name he used. Of course, there are so many people who go out of their way to be offended, and like to apply the values of today to times gone by - but I doubt they're spinning 'Must be the music'. Big up Dave and Big up Joey too.
Neo_Chayanne

Joey Negro Neo_Chayanne

May 29, 2019
edited over 4 years ago
One of the most respected house music artist for me on the house music scene! Someone in the same league as Phil Asher, MAW or Mood II Swing...Nuff said! This guy is a BIG BIG legend! Those who know, they know what i'm talking about! Big respect to sir Joey Negro!
brownrice1

Joey Negro as reviewed by brownrice1

March 28, 2015
This guy is the Martin Scorsese of funky-ass music!
He takes hard to find gems and then injects them with disco glitterball liquid funk steroids.
Never Retire!
See 1 reply
selectorken

Joey Negro selectorken

January 24, 2019
edited over 4 years ago
Ha, ha. Very good. Quite right. De Niro on bass and Pesci on vibes, eh??
caio.ck1

Joey Negro caio.ck1

November 7, 2012
Now a days is really ease to say “I′m a DJ” but if you make a “H.S.I” “House Scene Investigation” You Will discover that only few “DJs” can support this confirmation. And Mr. David Russell Lee (Joey Negro) is one of them. He has a large discography inspires him to create most of yours productions and remixes on Old School rare good stuffs.

Hoje em dia é muito fácil dizer que você é um “DJ”, porém, pouquíssimos conseguem sustentar esta afirma??o. Mr. David Russell Lee (Joey Negro) certamente pode ser considerado um desses poucos pois através de sua vasta discografia ele encontra inspira??o para criar suas produ??es e remixes (principalmente quando ele consulta as raízes do bom Old School).
Mr.Fonk

Joey Negro as reviewed by Mr.Fonk

April 24, 2003
respect to Mr.Dave Lee! Through his legendary compilations with early House & Disco gems, Joey Negro taught me more of the roots of electronic music than anyone else could have ever done!

He's also very capable of producing re-interpretations of old classic tracks that you would never expect to hear on a dancefloor again.